Posted in Eating

Oven-baked Fajitas

Since I got married, I have been learning to cook. By learning to cook, I mean scouring pinterest for things that sound fancy but aren’t. Example one, which I made for my husband and I on Monday, Oven-baked Fajitas (link to original recipe). I have now made it a few times and tweaked and added a fair amount, so here’s my version:

Ingredients
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp dried oregano
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 large bell pepper, seeded and sliced (I use half a green and half a red)
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 8oz (1 can) of whole corn
  • 80z (1 can) of black beans
  • 12 flour tortillas
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken strips in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
  2. In a small bowl combine the oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dried oregano, and salt
  3. Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat.
  4. Next add the peppers and onions to the dish and stir to combine.
  5. Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender.
  6. While baking, drain and then combine corn, black beans, and jalapeno in a skillet on medium-low heat. No oil needed, but stir occasionally to prevent burning. (If you prefer less heat, seed the jalapeno pepper)
  7. When most of the liquids have cooked off the corn and bean mixture, (approx 6-8 mins) add the tomato. Continue to simmer on low heat until chicken is done.
  8. Serve with tortillas!

Leftovers of the two parts of this easy dinner are easily re-purposed and keep well!

